HF29 Update: Here's a screen cap to make Panger's blood boil:
Here is my goddamn review (sorry for the expletive so early on. I'm a goalie and a lawyer. You bet I'm worked up. Doesn't mean I'm wrong.):
Rule 69 - Interference on the Goalkeeper
69.1 Interference on the Goalkeeper - This rule is based on the premise that an attacking player’s position, whether inside or outside the crease, should not, by itself, determine whether a goal should be allowed or disallowed. In other words, goals scored while attacking players are standing in the crease may, in appropriate circumstances be allowed. Goals should be disallowed only if: (1) an attacking player, either by his positioning or by contact, impairs the goalkeeper’s ability to move freely within his crease or defend his goal; or (2) an attacking player initiates intentional or deliberate contact with a goalkeeper, inside or outside of his goal crease. Incidental contact with a goalkeeper will be permitted, and resulting goals allowed, when such contact is initiated outside of the goal crease, provided the attacking player has made a reasonable effort to avoid such contact. The rule will be enforced exclusively in accordance with the on-ice judgment of the Referee(s), and not by means of video replay or review.
For purposes of this rule, “contact,” whether incidental or otherwise, shall mean any contact that is made between or among a goalkeeper and attacking player(s), whether by means of a stick or any part of the body.
The overriding rationale of this rule is that a goalkeeper should have the ability to move freely within his goal crease without being hindered by the actions of an attacking player. If an attacking player enters the goal crease and, by his actions, impairs the goalkeeper’s ability to defend his goal, and a goal is scored, the goal will be disallowed.
If an attacking player has been pushed, shoved, or fouled by a defending player so as to cause him to come into contact with the goalkeeper, such contact will not be deemed contact initiated by the attacking player for purposes of this rule, provided the attacking player has made a reasonable effort to avoid such contact.
[Emphasis obviously added.]
Poti Knuble clearly comes into contact with Halak before Gill hits him. Knuble's skates might have been outside the crease but it doesn't matter because he initiated contact. Even if he didn't, the fact is that Halak could not come out to the top of the crease and get set and square to the shooter, as he is entitled to do under the rule, because of Knuble's fucking huge ass hitting him in the chest right before the puck went in .
It is true that goal was scored in the second and the Habs had plenty of time to recover. But, admittedly, the Caps are too good offensively for the refs to hand them goals and expect Montreal to have a chance to win the series.
1-1 may be better than down 0-2, but it's a helluva lot worse than up 2-0 heading home. It could be worse - and it will be if the calls don't even out from here on in.
Comments! Comment on how right I am - unless you're a biased Caps Fan or Leafs Nation Kool-Aid Drinker. After all, Habs fans, especially us Four, are never biased.
HF29 media whoring update - 6:40 AM tomorrow, CBC Daybreak, yada yada